Board of Directors

David V. Goeddel, Ph.D., is a managing partner of The Column Group. Prior to The Column Group, he co-founded Tularik in 1991, was vice president of research until 1996 and was CEO from 1996 to 2004 when Tularik was acquired by Amgen. Dr. Goeddel served as Amgen’s first senior scientific vice president until 2006. Prior to Tularik, he was the first scientist hired by Genentech, Inc. and from 1978 to 1993 served in various positions, including fellow, staff scientist and director of molecular biology. His pioneering work in the fields of gene cloning and expression of human proteins has been the basis for five significant marketed therapeutics developed by Genentech, including human insulin, human growth hormone, interferon-alpha, interferon-gamma and tissue plasminogen activator. Dr. Goeddel has received numerous scientific awards including the Scheele Medal, the Eli Lilly Award in Biological Chemistry, the Inventor of the Year Award, the Jacob Heskel Gabbay Award, the Howley Prize for Arthritis Research and the Warren Alpert Foundation Prize. He is a member of the National Academy of Sciences and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. Dr. Goeddel currently serves on the boards of Constellation Pharmaceuticals, NGM Biopharmaceuticals (chairman), Nurix and Peloton Therapeutics, and is a member of the scientific advisory board of Peloton Therapeutics.

John D. Diekman, Ph.D., is a founder and managing partner of 5AM Ventures. Prior to founding 5AM in 2002, Dr. Diekman was a founder and managing director of Bay City Capital, a life sciences investment firm. Previously, Dr. Diekman was chairman and CEO of Affymetrix, and chairman and managing director of Affymax. Dr. Diekman currently serves as chairman of Ambrx as well as on the boards of PhaseRx and Wildcat. Dr. Diekman was formerly a board director of Chemdex (IPO 1999), Envoy (acquired by Takeda), Ingenuity (acquired by Qiagen), LJL BioSystems (IPO 1998) and Marcadia (acquired by Roche). He is a charter trustee of Princeton University and former Trustee of The California Institute of Technology and also of The Scripps Research Institute, where he served as chairman. He serves on the Schaeffer Center for Health Policy and economics advisory board at the University of Southern California. He is an honorary officer of the Order of Australia.

Dr. Diekman holds a B.A. in chemistry from Princeton University and a Ph.D. in chemistry from Stanford University. He holds an honorary degree of doctor of laws from Monash University.

Mark Goldsmith, M.D., Ph.D., joined Third Rock Ventures in 2012 and participates in the ideation, development and leadership of new companies. Currently, he serves as CEO and board member of Third Rock Ventures portfolio company Global Blood Therapeutics. Prior to joining Third Rock, Dr. Goldsmith was president and chief executive officer of Constellation Pharmaceuticals, the leading biopharmaceutical company in the field of epigenetics and a Third Rock Ventures portfolio company. Dr. Goldsmith continues his active involvement with Constellation Pharmaceuticals by serving as executive chairman. Before Constellation, he held senior executive positions in the biotechnology industry and academia. Prior to his appointment at Constellation in 2009, Dr. Goldsmith was a senior executive-in-residence at Prospect Venture Partners, a leading health care venture capital firm. Previously, he served as CEO of Cogentus Pharmaceuticals and as senior vice president leading the health care division of Genencor International. Before entering the private sector, Dr. Goldsmith led a medical research laboratory at the Gladstone Institute of Virology and Immunology, practiced medicine on the faculty of the University of California, San Francisco School of Medicine and at San Francisco General Hospital, and was a consultant to leading pharmaceutical and biotechnology companies.

Dr. Goldsmith received his undergraduate degree from Princeton University, earned his M.D. and Ph.D. in microbiology and immunology from the University of California, San Francisco and conducted postgraduate medical training at Harvard Medical School and the University of California, San Francisco.

Robert Schreiber, Ph.D., is the alumni endowed professor of pathology and immunology, professor of molecular microbiology and the tumor immunology program co-leader for the Siteman Comprehensive Cancer Center at Washington University School of Medicine. He is an affiliate of the Ludwig Institute for Cancer Research, an associate director of the Cancer Research Institute, a member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, a fellow of the American Association of Science, a past member of the board of scientific advisers for the National Cancer Institute and a past president of the Society for Leukocyte Biology. His lab is highly regarded for its research on the molecular cell biology and immunology of interferon-gamma and its receptor, as well as its strong expertise in mAb discovery. Dr. Schreiber’s group unequivocally demonstrated that the immune system provides an extrinsic tumor suppressor function (cancer immunosurveillance) capable of eliminating spontaneous- and carcinogen-induced primary tumors. He has authored more than 200 peer reviewed and invited publications and has received several honors, including the Milstein Award for Outstanding Achievements in Research on Interferon and Cytokines from the International Society of Interferon and Cytokine Research, the Bonazinga Award for Excellence in Leukocyte Biology Research from the Society for Leukocyte Biology, the William B. Coley Award for Distinguished Research in Basic and Tumor Immunology from the Cancer Research Institute and the Charles Rodolphe Brupbacher Award for Cancer Research from the Brupbacher Cancer Foundation in Switzerland.

Dr. Schreiber holds a B.A. in chemistry and Ph.D. in biochemistry from the State University of New York at Buffalo.